Congregations open up their buildings to serve children, the hungry, the homeless and others in need. Sacred places stabilize neighborhoods, strengthen commercial districts and significantly add to the economic health of our communities. All of this is endangered, however, when congregations can no longer afford to maintain these aging buildings. Partners has developed a family of highly-acclaimed resources to help congregations connect better to their communities, raise capital funds in new ways and preserve their historic building for future generations. We are the nation's only non-sectarian, nonprofit organization dedicated the sound stewardship and active community use of America's older religious properties.

Texas Sacred Places Project Committee

Guiding the Texas Sacred Places Project is a distinguished steering committee of historians, preservationists, architects, academics and clergy, representing a host of institutions across Texas and a broad range of perspectives.  Throughout the development of this project, the committee has convened regularly, working closely with Partners staff to ensure the launch of the most effective resource.  Committee members include:  

Texas Historical Commission
Mark Wolfe, Executive Director
Dr. Terry Colley, Deputy Director
Toni Turner, Development Officer
Karen Knox, Development Associate

Texas Association of Museums
RuthAnn Rugg, Executive Director

Preservation Texas
Krista Schreiner Gebbia, Executive Director

National Trust for Historic Preservation
Jonathan Poston, Director, Southwestern Region

Texas Conference of Churches
Teresa Nira, Executive Director

Texas Churches Project
Matthew Magruder,  Photographer

Texas Architect Magazine
Stephen Sharpe, Editor

Historic Resources Committee, Texas Society of Architects
James Nader, FAIA, Chairman  

Architecture Deans
John Casbarian, FAIA, Rice University
William Dupont, AIA, University of Texas, San Antonio
Don Gatzke, AIA,  University of Texas, Arlington
Dr. Glenn Mills, Texas A&M University
Dr. Ikhlas Sabouni, Assoc. AIA, Prairie View A&M School of Architecture
Frederick Steiner, Assoc. AIA, University of Texas
Andrew Vernooy, AIA, Texas Tech University

Prairie View A&M
Dr. Akel Kahera, Director, Texas Institute for Preservation of History and Culture
Barry Norwood, Associate Professor, Department of Architecture  
Arsenio Rodriquez, Assistant Professor, Department of Architecture
Texas A&M University
Dr. Anat Geva, Assoc. AIA, Associate Professor, Department of Architecture
Dr. Phill Tabb, AIA, Professor, Department of Architecture
Bob Warden, Professor and Associate Director, Center for Heritage Conservation
David Woodcock, FAIA, Professor and Director, Center for Heritage Conservation
Texas Tech University
Gary Smith, AIA, Associate Professor, College of Architecture 
Brian Zugay, Assistant Professor, College of Architecture
University of Texas, Austin
Dr. Michael Holleran, Director, Historic Preservation Graduate Program
University of Texas, San Antonio
Sue Ann Pemberton Haugh, FAIA, Associate Professor, College of Architecture
James Lewis, Senior Lecturer, College of Architecture
Mark Blizard, Associate Professor, College of Architecture

Anna Mod, AIA, Houston
Dan Hart, AIA, Midland
James Heck, AIA, San Antonio
Ben Heimsath, AIA, Austin
Charles John, AIA, San Antonio
John Volz, AIA, Austin
Morton Levy, FAIA Houston
Emily Ledbetter, Assoc. AIA, Houston